Annual Town Election May 4, 2020

Annual Town Election

Chesterfield's Annual Town Election will be Monday, May 4, 2020 with voting from 12 noon until 8 p.m.  The election will be held in the Community Center at 400 Main Road.  This year, early voting by mail and absentee ballot voting will be available for all registered voters.  We are encouraging voters to choose one of these options and avoid the public polling place.

The application forms to request early voting/absentee ballot are available on the bulletin board at the Chesterfield Post Office as well as on the Town Clerk’s page on our website,  The completed application can be sent to the Town Clerk to request a ballot and as soon as they are available, they will be mailed to applicants.  Remember to allow enough time for the ballot to be delivered back to the Town Clerk before May 4th. 

Please note that voting will take place at the Community Center at 400 Main Road and not the Town Offices.  The larger space will allow us to work within the social distancing practices.  The number of voters allowed inside the building at any given time will be limited.  We will sanitize the voting area between usage.  However, if you are immune compromised, a senior, or otherwise considered in the high-risk population, you are advised to request an absentee or early voter ballot, which will be sent to you.  The application can be emailed to the Town Clerk, Sandy Wickland, at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., mailed via USPS, or left in the secure dropbox by the back door at the Town Offices. 

If you have any questions about this, please reach out to the Town Clerk.

The last day to register to vote for the May 4th election is April 14th. 


The following Town positions will be on the Annual Town Election ballot.  (Current members serving are listed.)

Selectman (3 years) - Patricia Colson-Montgomery

*Selectman (2 years) - Bob Recos is retiring as of May

Assessor (3 years) - Mary Anne Severance-Rys

Town Clerk (3 years) - Sandra L Wickland

Treasurer (3 years) - Margaret McWherter 

Tax Collector (3 Years) - Lenore Pittsinger

Board of Health (3 years) - Henry Badner

*Chesterfield/Goshen School Committee (2 years) - Gail Lucey, not seeking election

Chesterfield/Goshen School Committee (3 years) - Donald Willard

*Hampshire Regional School Committee (2 years) - vacancy

Constable (3 years) - Robert Judd, Jr.

*Library Trustee (3 years) - Betsy Todd  is not seeking re-election

Planning Board (3 Years) - Maureen Borg

Planning Board (3 years) - Daniel Henshaw

Planning Board (3 years) - Judith Terry

Tree Warden (3 years) - John Lynch

*These positions need to be filled because of current vacancies or because current officials will not be seeking re-election or are retiring.

Voting by absentee ballot is encouraged because of the social distancing guidelines.  The application for an absentee ballot is attached below.